Saturday Poem – Kanelakos

Standard

New Light

By Joye Kanelakos

New Light

I open my eyes to you

Bright shiny morning,

While some lonely half-dream

Still clouds my mind;

And I worry your presence

By pulling in yesterday,

Plucking out moments

I should leave behind.

Sweet friend and companion,

Refresher of souls,

I rise to your joyful

Awakening at last.

And I gather your warmth

As a maiden her lover.

Embrace me, sweet morning

Black shadows are past.

This lovely poem was posted by Joye Kanelakos’ granddaughter over at I Love Geekology 101Check it out!

Leave a Reply

