What We Love About A Good Concert

Standard

I recently attended a Mumford & Sons concert. The band was wonderful! The concert was held in an outdoor amphitheater setting and the weather could not have been better. The tickets were reasonably priced and the girls I went with were a hoot! I jumped and danced and sang until I was hoarse, but about half way through the event I began to take stock as I often do. I started asking myself, why do we really enjoy this? What is it about seeing one of our favorite bands live that draws us? Then it dawned on me…it’s the camaraderie.

As human beings were are drawn to the feeling that we belong to something bigger. Whether it’s a concert, a cause or a cult, we want to know there is someone else out there who feels like we do and thinks like we think. We want to feel like we’re not alone. I started to look around at all of us singing in unison with Mr. Mumford. We all jumped together at certain parts of certain songs. We all clapped, raised our hands and screamed really loud at the same time. It was almost freakish how synchronized 17,000 people could be. Usually you can’t get 3 people to agree on where they want to eat. But there we were, together under the stars, absolutely loving it.

When I got home that night, my husband had recorded the local news which had covered the show. The footage drove home exactly what I had felt during the concert. We had been an undulating sea of people floating on a current of music and freedom. Not to sound too much like a hippie, but it was really beautiful. I can only imagine what Woodstock would have been like because I wasn’t even born yet, but I think that feeling of togetherness is why I’ve always wished I could’ve been there.

So the next time you’re at a concert stop just a moment and take a look around you. Soak in the wonderful feeling of camaraderie that surrounds you and then throw your hands in the air and know you belong!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Attending a Concert at Red Rock Amphitheater is a Must Do While in Denver | Fabulous 50's

Leave a Reply

