Friendship: Watsons Make the World Go ‘Round

Standard

photoMy best friend, BW, and I were having a completely loony conversation the other day.  This is not unusual by the way.  We have all sorts of loony conversations.  We discuss things like…if you weren’t married and could marry any fictional character, who would it be?  And…if you were stranded on a deserted island, which book series would you want with you?  Anyway, this particular conversation was comparing our relationship to that of BBC One’s Sherlock and Watson.  We have both admittedly fallen madly in love with the show and have been somewhat obsessed as of late.  BW made the comment that we are like Sherlock and Watson.  I asked if I was Sherlock and she asked if there was really any doubt.

I admit I am somewhat like Sherlock.  I’m not nearly as brilliant and I do have a lot more tact (I am from the South after all), but I do have many of the same feelings of disdain for humanity, I am not a true people person, I am snarky, I absolutely reek of sarcasm, I tend to be drawn to the darker things of this world, I don’t like compromising, I rarely say I’m sorry (even when I should) and my ego often gets in my way.  On the flip side I am funny, I can be charming when I want to be and I am fiercely protective of those I love.  To say I have protective walls is an understatement.  I have walls, thorny hedges, moats, poisonous arrows, flamethrowers, etc.  You must run the gauntlet to really get to know me.  We Sherlock types need people to prove themselves to us and, let’s face it there are not a lot of people who are willing to put in that sort of time and effort.  Most people take it as a personal affront to have to prove themselves to anyone.  So, the friendships I have are not plenteous, but they are deep and true.

With all that being said, BW is definitely Watson.  She is kind, she‘s smart, she cares about others, she cares what people think not only of her, but of me, she is definitely a feeler, she is also fiercely protective of her relationships and she often follows my lead to her own detriment.  We have a running joke about a great scene from The Town.  Ben Affleck comes in and basically tells Jeremy Renner,  I can’t give you any information, but we’re going to hurt some people.  Jeremy Renner responds with, “Whose car are we gonna take?”  (Watch the clip.  It’s hilarious.)  That is some serious trust and dedication!  Watson is exactly the same.  He follows Sherlock into every sticky situation with no regard for his own safety.  BW tells me all the time that she would follow me blindly.  We laugh about it, but I really think she would!

There is one really important take away from all this psychoanalyzing.  Watsons are extremely underrated and undervalued in relationships.  It is often the Sherlocks of this world that are noticed.  We are the more flamboyant, snarky, up-front types.  We secretly love the limelight even though we could care less about people’s approval.  BUT – it is the Watsons that keep us grounded in reality.  In my friend’s case, she sees the real me (in spite of me), she is the one who keeps me engaged, she draws me out, she makes me talk about feelings and mushy crap, she makes me notice others, she makes me more compassionate, she can read me like a book, she is invested in me, she cares for me and she makes me care.  Ultimately, she makes me a better person.

I leave you with a quote from Sherlock‘s Lastrade, “…Sherlock Holmes is a great man.  And one day, if we’re very, very lucky…he might be a good one.”  The Watsons of this world help turn the Sherlocks into good people.  Without them, all hope would be lost.

One response »

  1. Opposites attract in friendships and love and the best pairs seem to be the most unlikely ones. The 2 BFFs here (not Sherlock and Holmes) are a great pair and seem to be perfectly oddly matched.

Leave a Reply

