Adventure Addict

Standard

Jamaican Sunset #2As a kid, my parents made sure we made it to the beach at least once every year.  My mother loves the beach.  She says she feels at peace when she’s there.  I really cannot think of a single summer in my 39 years that we have not driven the 4 hours to spend at least 2 or 3 nights at the beach.  I believe those annual outings instilled in me the need for adventure.

That need was definitely cemented when I took my first overseas trip while in college.  It was what I believed would be a once in a lifetime opportunity to completely submerge myself in another culture.  I spent 3 ½ months in England on a school exchange and the trip fundamentally changed me on multiple levels.  I was bitten by the travel bug and the symptoms have yet to lessen.

I crave adventure.  I need it.  I feel like I’m not really living if I don’t get it.  Whether it is trekking through Rome, boating through Venice, mountain biking through the Blue Mountains of Jamaica, exploring Stonehenge, snorkeling in the British Virgin Islands or searching for Nessie in Scotland (all of which I’ve done), these are the times I feel alive.  It is an overwhelming feeling when you see the things you’ve only read about in books.  I can’t put into words what that does deep down in my soul.

My husband had never been out of the country when I met him.  Our first trip together was to the Bahamas.  He was hooked after that.  I am blessed that I now have a life-long partner for my adventures.  He loves it as much as I do.  A couple of months after a trip he’ll start asking where our next adventure will take us.

Amelia Earhart totally nailed it when she said, “Adventure is worthwhile in itself.”  If you consider yourself a home body, I encourage you to get out there and have an adventure.  You don’t have to leave the country or even your home town to find it.  Do something outside your comfort zone.  Have an adventure!!  You’ll be amazed at what you discover about this amazing planet we call home and yourself!!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Mini-Adventure: Pottery | Cabinet of Curiosities

Leave a Reply

